The Rolling Stone Blogger Update

Okay so look … I’m a flaky blogger – a rolling stone of the blog world, if you will. I know … I know. I’m not proud of it – but I admit it. And for some strange reason I always become inspired around the start of Fall (which just officially started – so I guess I’m right on time LOL). I don’t know why but it’s always around this time of year that the creative mojo gets all stirred up. Sooo … here I am. Again. If you’ll take me back.

SO much has happened since September of last year (and oh if we could just go back to 2019 when life was “normal”). Let’s see if I can catch you up …

I was waxing on about missing my hometown … in that valley of indecision – to move back or not to move back home. Little did I know that 3 months later we’d be moving! Yep that’s right – moved back to my roots. So much happened in such a small time span that I’m not even sure how I made it out of it all in one piece. Quick run down:

Interviewed for a job in October … got said job in November (to start JAN 2020) … found and put an offer in on a house in December … moved in with the parentals (eeek!) for a few weeks until house was ready and started new job beginning of January … quit horrid, horrid new job 3 weeks in and went back to work for old job remotely (before working from home was made cool by the ‘Rona) … moved into new house officially in February … hubby started new job and moved into our home in February (a month apart was NOT the biz). **takes a breath**

Then (cue dramatic, climactic music) – COVID reared it’s ugly head and overshadowed every good thing that had happened up to that point in March.

I think we can all agree that we could have done fine if 2020 was just skipped over entirely. That most of it should never be spoken of ever again. It’s literally the most I have ever struggled emotionally and spiritually in all my life. The struggle, to find peace and to find joy … to even seek out the Lord for those exact things, has been what they call – “real”.

However, I would like to take a moment and highlight some of the pretty cool things that have happened despite 2020’s best efforts to bring me down:

  • bought a house
  • started back at my job with perks of working remotely from home and a raise
  • the hubbin started a new job and is excelling and winning awards for his work after just 7 months … aaand his schedule is amazing – we actually get to see each other every night and he has more days off than he knows what to do with!
  • decorating my home has brought my Pinterest boards to life
  • though fewer and far between (due to the stupid pandemic), the visits and lunch dates with my mama and gam-gam have been memories made that I will always cherish
  • we got a puppy (though the jury is out on whether or not that should be on this list of good things that have happened)
  • very dear childhood friends walked out of my life due to differences of opinions (can you believe that?) HOWEVER – God has brought into my life new and wonderful people … even old friendships rekindled. And of course the solid relationships of my two best friends remain.
  • the Lord has shown Himself mighty on my behalf through it ALL! Despite my struggle at times to seek Him in the painful and lonely places – He’s been ever faithful in holding me up, setting me back on course, and growing and blessing me beyond all I could have asked or thought.

So, while 2020 has been very ugly – it’s also been oddly fabulous. I suppose it just depends on your perspective.

I’m going to try to maintain some level of consistency with this blog. Sometimes, I just get caught up in living life that I don’t stop to write about it. Bear with me.

Happy Fall everyone!

Leave a comment