5 Senses Monday

20151122_093819

Beautiful morning for a hike

My good friend, the Urban Hippie … found here: https://theurbanhippie.wordpress.com  … does a piece called Five Senses Monday. Something she adapted from another blogger only with her own twist. I love it so much that I’d like to do my own. After all, imitation is the highest form of flattery, right?

Five Senses Monday is a reflection of the past few days via the 5 senses. So I’m going to try my hand at it and you feel free to play along!

TASTING:  It wasn’t a hugely exciting weekend for food and drink but I did deviate from my normal organic, clean eating to indulge in a pumpkin spice latte from Starbucks … though more so for the purpose of a caffeine / energy boost after 4 short hours of sleep – needed to wake up to go into work on my day off. Ugh!

HEARING:  the most annoying kitchen faucet drip from the kitchen (hence the lack of zzz’s) … the Nationwide commercial jingle for like the billionth time (hate that commercial lol) … carts clanging and registers beeping as the holiday hustle n bustle has taken over the grocery and department stores

SMELLING:  the delicious smells of a once-too-frequently visited coffee shop … rotisserie chicken while making my way through Costco … the fresh air during an early morning hike

FEELING:  grateful for all that I’ve been blessed with, including the love of my life and the cherished time we get to spend together … ready to dive into the Christmas “spirit” – but first stop:  Turkey Day!!!

SEEING:  the beauty in God’s creation as we hiked through Garland Ranch Regional Park in Carmel Valley. This place has everything from oak trees and thistley bushes to ferns and moss-covered rocks and trees. The landscape varies from open fields and foresty-type  spots to jungle-like terrain with hanging vines and dried up waterfalls. So much to explore here and we haven’t even scratched the surface.

Some of the photos from our hike:

20151122_094842

How can something so pretty be so itchy?

20151122_102306

I never knew until I started coming here that California has mossy oak trees. I thought they were something you’d find only in some swampy bayou.

20151122_100012

Fall colors everywhere!

20151122_103550

The fur baby loves hiking too.

20151122_102427

My loves

20151122_112807

He’s such a show off – zooming up and down the hills with such ease. But he’s operating on 4-wheel drive so I don’t feel so bad.

20151122_104059

majestic oaks – love ’em

Okay – your turn! What did your weekend look like … smell like … taste like?

Leave a comment